You can use the Resume feature to allow a student to continue within a test he or she exited before finishing it.

If the student successfully signed out of the test — after you resume the test — the student can resume testing on any testing device without losing response data. 

Resume acts as a security measure. For example, if a student has an test ticket or remembers the password, he or she cannot sign in again until the proctor resumes the test.

There are two options for resuming a student test.

Resume uses only the test data last sent to the Pearson server, rather than data saved on a specific testing computer. 

Resumed Upload prompts TestNav to check for a saved response file (SRF) on the testing computer when the student signs in to continue.

(info) If a student did not properly sign out of TestNav, follow these steps to resume the test for the student to complete.

Step-by-Step 

You can choose to read or watch the instructions below.


(Click to view image)

  1. From Testing, select Students in Sessions.

  2. Click Add a Session.

  3. Type a session name into the search field, and click Search.

  4. Click the checkbox next to the session.

  5. Click Add Selected.

  6. Search to find the student whose status you want to view.

  7. Click the arrow next to the student's status, and select either Resume or Resume Upload.

To resume multiple student tests, repeat steps 1 through 5, and then:

6. Click the checkbox next to the student tests.

7. Click Select Tasks, select Resume Student Tests, and click Start.

8. Click the checkbox next to the student tests, and click Resume.


What's Next?

After you resume a student test, you must also unlock the test or unit of the test.

Back to the top